The top story on Employment Law This Week is California’s statewide $15 minimum wage.
On April 4, Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill that will raise California’s minimum wage to 15 dollars an hour by 2022 for companies with more than 25 employees. The increase will begin next year, moving from 10 dollars an hour to $10.50. California – one of the world’s biggest economies – is the first U.S. state to commit to a 15 dollar minimum wage. And the trend is continuing, with similar legislation signed in New York last week as well. David Jacobs from Epstein Becker Green has more on the trend and what employers in California can do to prepare.
View the episode below or learn more about the New York legislation in an EBG Act Now Advisory.